Trio wins Nobel Prize(Physics) for the year 2021

The Nobel Prize for Physics 2021 will be split in half, with one half going to Klaus Hasselmann and Syukuro Manabe for physical modeling of the climate of the Earth, quantifying variability, as well as robustly trying to predict global warming, and another half going to Giorgio Parisi for discovering the interplay of fluctuations and disorders in physics.

The Nobel Prize for Physics was awarded on Tuesday to Italian Giorgio Parisi, German Klaus Hasselmann, and Japanese-born American Syukuro Manabe for research that aids in the understanding of complicated physical processes such as Earth’s changing climate. Yet another 50 percent of 10-million Swedish crown ($1.15 million) win goes throughout equal portions to Manabe, 90, as well as Hasselmann, 89, for simulating the earth’s climate & reliably predicting global warming, according to a decision hailed by the United Nations weather agency as a sign of forming consensus around man-made global warming. The other half of the award goes to Parisi, who discovered “hidden laws” underlying random motions & swirls through liquids and gases in the early 1980s, which may be applied to elements of neurology, machine learning, as well as starling flight configurations.

Syukuro Manabe - Giorgio Parisi - Klaus Hasselmann
Noble Prize Winners 2021 for Physics
  • Klaus Ferdinand Hasselmann is a very well German climate modeler and oceanographer. He is a former Director at Max Planck Institute for Meteorology and Professor Emeritus there at the University of Hamburg. He has so far been credited with the development of the Hasselmann model designed for predicting climate variability, in which a long-memory scheme (the ocean) incorporates stochastic forcing, trying to transform a white-noise signal together into the red-noise signal, and hence describing (without particularly unique assumptions) the climate’s ubiquitous red-noise signals.
  • Giorgio Parisi is a theoretical physicist from Italy who specializes in quantum theory, statistical mechanics, as well as complex systems. The QCD evolution equation is derived for Parton densities, recognized as Altarelli–Parisi or DGLAP formulas, acquired with Guido Altarelli, the exact solution of a Sherrington–Kirkpatrick prototype of spin glasses, a Kardar–Parisi–Zhang formula explaining dynamic scaling of burgeoning interfaces, as well as the research of whirling birds, are among his most well-known contributions.
  • Syukuro “Suki” Manabe, a Japanese-American meteorologist as well as climatologist, is credited with being the first to utilize computers to model global warming and climate change as well as natural climatic fluctuations. For his groundbreaking research on the Earth’s climate’s sensitivity to rising carbon dioxide levels in the atmosphere and the expansion of global climate change models, that have resulted in significant advancements in the fields of climate variability as well as methods for foretelling future climate change.

For their work in “physical modeling of Earth’s climate, measuring variability, and accurately forecasting global warming,” Klaus Hasselmann and Syukuro Manabe were recognized. Giorgio Parisi received the second part of the prize for “discovering the interaction of disorder as well as irregularities in physical systems spanning atomic to planetary scales.”

Nobel Prize For Physics 2021 | Barron's

Goran Hansson, secretary-general of the Royal Swedish Academy of Sciences, revealed the winners on October 5, 2021. It is usual for an award to be shared by many scientists who study in similar areas. Last year, the prize was awarded to Andrea Ghez of the United States, Reinhard Genzel of Germany, and Roger Penrose of the United Kingdom for their outstanding work on black holes.

The prize includes a gold medal along with a cash prize of 10 million Krw (about $1.14 million). The award money originates from a legacy left by Alfred Nobel, the prize’s founder, who passed away in 1895.

The Nobel Committee awarded Ardem Patapoutian and David Julius,  the prize in physiology or medicine on October 4, 2021, for their findings into how the human body senses temperature and touch. Prizes will be given out in the following days for exceptional achievements in the areas of chemistry, literature, peace, and economics.

Sources –


Share on facebook
Share on twitter
Share on linkedin

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.